Double Feature

Terve, 23 year old Brendan here.

I have been meaning to write a post about my birthday shenanigans since Thursday. However I also need to add some photos from last weekend, so you lucky readers will get a Grindhouse style double bill, minus the fun.

I woke up on the 20th a 23 year old young man. What a feeling, my lifes really turned around. I got a parcel in the morning from my Mum, full of cool gifts, and watched the new episode of 4400. That afternoon I went to work, but after work the fun truly began. I met Ross and Shinjuku and we went to the British Pub, we played Mythbusters. We proved the myth that a shot will sink to the bottom of a beer and not mix, by tasting the two points with two straws. We then busted the myth that a one yen piece will float in beer (it really won’t). We then met G and moved to space bar.

Space bar is a crazy restaraunt where the waitresses glow in the dark, and bare metal and air ducts are common decorations. Even though it’s a restaraunt we managed to not eat anything and not get kicked out, however we decided it was prudent to leave when a rubber toilet slipper ended up inside the bar.

Next stop was a horrible hostess bar, where old hostess’ go to die. We paid for all you can drink, but the women there kept trying to make us buy them one. Gio`s girl was in her 50’s, Ross’ came to be known as “THE MOLE”, Phils girl looked uncomortable and wanted to go home, and my Russian lovely didn’t speak English. At first it was a good laugh, I tried to make some small talk (“Do you like bears”, “Have you seen the movie Hostel”) and even sung some Celine Dion karaoke. However the ladies were getting restless, we were drinking beer and eating stale chips, but had managed not to buy them anything.  Ross told “THE MOLE” I had won the lottery, and next thing I knew I was being hounded for my (non-existent) credit card. Finally a large afro clad Japanese women came and started yelling at us, so we decided to leave.

On leaving we met a huge black man named Samson who wanted us to check out his Hostess bar. We eventually managed to lose him by saying we had to go help our friend Johnny, who had fallen down some stairs (but not till he had refused to let me find a toilet, and made go with him to a back alley to take a pee).

We ended up in a strange little bar on a random floor of a big building, drinking white russians. I fell asleep, the bar stuff drew on me, Top Night!

I took the next day off and spent the day playing Ps3, watching Gumball Rally and went out for tea at the Outback Steakhouse. Good day.

On returning to work on Friday I got a vist from the area manager, who gave me my first written warning for calling in sick to many times (I averaged one sick day a month). These are notoriously hard to get (My friend got one for yawning in class) and I was terribly depressed.

I spent most of last weekend watching TV on my bed and eating Wendys. Once again we spent our Sunday Eve at the delightful Crazy Cactus mexican bar, playing cards and pool. We met up with two other Tasmanians at the bar who also live in our buildin and managed to outnumber the Japanese people.

Thats about it, tonight we are drinking and watching Horror movies. I plan to give Ross the Australian horror experience, Wolf Creek and Undead. I think we’ll skip Howling 3: the Marsupials.

Thats it for today, if you are still reading this well done.

Later!

June 27, 2007. Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. Kramer replied:

    yo dont worry too much B I managed to get my first written notice in my second week after I went to a Hanami party and insulted all my bosses THEN called in sick. You have a long way to go to master that kind of awesome!

  2. Kramer replied:

    PS has Japan turned you into some kind of pig monster?

  3. Annaleis replied:

    Good one BC, Glad you’rehaving a great time, but i’m really sorry I missed your b’day 😦
    How long are you staying in JapLand for?

  4. friendlyyoungmen replied:

    At the moment the plan is to stay till February, then go back to Australia. Work in Australia for a few months, then travel somewhere else, hopefully Finland.

  5. Mum replied:

    Hi Brendan

    Glad you liked your pressies

    A lady at work’s son is going to Transylvania to teach english, maybe an option for next year.

    Won’t comment on the festivities there are some things your Mum would rather not know.

  6. James replied:

    Nice site lads, Tokyo is awesome!

    Might have to check out the Crazy Cactus soon

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

